Jesús Antonio Luque Urrutia wins the second prize for the best Spanish computational paper in 2020

On 19th May 2021, the evaluation committee of the prizes to the best articles produced by Spanish PhD students in the area of Chemistry and Computation in 2020 were announced by the Computation and Chemistry specialized group of the Spanish Royal Society of Chemistry. To our delight, Dr. Jesús Antonio Luque Urrutia, former member of our research group, won the second prize with the paper:

Jesús Antonio Luque-Urrutia, Albert Poater, Miquel Solà
Do carbon nano-onions behave as nanoscopic Faraday cages? A comparison of the reactivity of C60, C240, C60@C240, Li+@C60, Li+@C240, and Li+@C60@C240
Chem. Eur. J., 202026, 804-808
DOI: 10.1002/chem.201904650

Congratulations Xus!

This paper corresponds to the last chapter of the PhD thesis defended by Dr. Luque on 26th March 2021. If you are interested you can see his defense at:

PhD Thesis by Dr. Albert Artigas

On 31st January 2020, Dr. Albert Artigas defended his PhD Thesis entitled: “Cyclization reactions for the functionalization of fullerenes: Experimental and theoretical studies” supervised by Prof. Anna Roglans, Prof. Miquel Solà and Dr Agustí Lledó from the DiMoCat group at IQCC. The members of the evaluation committee were Prof. Roser Pleixats from UAB acting as a President, Prof. Thierry Achard from the Institut de Physique et Chimie des Matériaux de Strasbourg acting as a member, and Prof. Sílvia Osuna from the IQCC acting as a secretary.

Albert wrote a great Thesis and made a nice presentation! Congratulations, Albert!!!

Miquel Solà, honorary member of the Polish Chemical Society

On the opening ceremony of the 62nd Annual Meeting of the Polish Chemical Society, organized on 2–6 September 2019, in Warsaw, the DiMoCat member Miquel Solà has been awarded the Honorary Member of the Polish Chemical Societyfor his outstanding scientific achievements and services for the Society“. The distinction has been delivered to Prof. Solà by Professor Izabela Nowak, president of the Polish Chemical Society and Professor Robert Nowakowski, the Chairman of the Organizing Committee.

Collaboration of Prof. Solà with Polish chemists started in 2003. Since then he has visited the labs of Prof. Krygowski, Prof. Cyranski and Dr. Zborowski (the latter one in the framework of the “Smoluchowski Seminar Guest Lecture Program” of the Jagiellonian University) and has been invited to three congresses organized by Polish chemists. On the other hand, ten Polish chemists (Dariusz Szczepanik, Halina Szatylowicz, Marcin Palusiak, Marcin Buchowiecki, Mirosław Jabonski, Krzysztof Zborowski, Antony Stasyuk, Olga Stasyuk, Paulina H. Marek and Kamila Pruszkowska) have visited the lab of Prof. Solà, most of them with a HPC-Europa fellowship. As a whole, Prof. Solà has published 23 articles with 21 different Polish co-authors. In particular, he has published 6 articles with T. Marek Krygowski, 6 with Marcin Palusiak, 8 with Antony Stasyuk, 5 with Halina Szatylowicz, and 4 with Dariusz Szczepanik. Among these articles, one can find 1 Angew. Chem., 2 Chem. Eur. J.,  3 J. Org. Chem., 3 Phys. Chem. Chem. Phys., 3 J. Phys. Chem. A, 1 J. Phys. Chem. C, and 1 J. Chem. Theory Comput.

The official document awarding the honorary distinction can be downloaded here: list prof. Sola PTChem 20.12.2018-1 RN

The first meeting of the Polish Chemical Society took place on 29th June 1919 (the society has celebrated this year its 100th anniversary). The honorary membership is given to those who particularly contributed to the development of Chemistry. Among the awardees we can cite names like Maria Skłodowska Curie (1924), Henri Le Chatelier (1924), Paul Sabatier (1924), Irwing Langmuir (1939), Ronald G. W. Norrish (1959), Edmund L. Hirst (1959), Ilya Prigogine (1970), Alan R. Katrinski (1986), Kyoichi Watanabe (1994),  Aleksander W. Zamojski (2000), Tadeusz M. Krygowski (2005), Helmut Schwarz (2015) or Hans-Ulrich Reissig (2017).